Is there a doctor on board?

3 Jan

I’m wondering what I’ll do if I were in his shoes….

markmdmph

I have been traveling a bit for residency interviews over the past few weeks, and given that planes, trains, and buses have become my new home, I have been thinking a lot about what I would do if a fellow passenger needed medical help. As we go into the holiday season, I imagine many people with medical training will be traveling, as well.

I was once called upon to assist a passenger in an in-flight medical emergency. It was when I was leaving for vacation after completing my third-year clerkships, and my relatively minimal hands-on experience put me as the highest-ranking medically trained person on the plane. I was thrust into a relatively unfamiliar situation and forced to apply my medical knowledge in the “low-resource” setting of the airplane.

Thankfully, the passenger was stable and didn’t require more than a history and basic physical, but the experience left me wondering…

View original post 1,352 more words

Leave a Reply

