Monster Hunter and Table Tennis

1 Jan

I write this both as a gamer and table tennis player. So if you as a reader aren’t either one of them, maybe it’s a little hard to understand and not really fun to read.
In these past few months, I had plenty of spare time. So I decided to do what I like to do: playing video games and practice table tennis. One of my favorite video game is Monster Hunter Freedom 2 in PSP platform. It’s an old game actually. But I saw one of my friend played it a few years ago, and I was like, “Wow, that looks fun!”, and it became the game I really wanted to play ever since. Only now I have the opportunity to play it.
In this game, I play as a hunter of a small village in a world filled with ferocious monsters, wyverns, and dragons. As a monster hunter, my job is to hunt down those monsters and protect the village. In my long journey as a hunter, I must improve myself by upgrading weapons and armors. In order to do so, I must gather the necessary material, either from mining, farming, gathering, or by carving them from the monster. As I grow stronger, I will also encounter stronger and stronger monster. The basic idea of this game is completely quest-based, and quite easy to understand. Meet the village chief to find available quest, accept the quest (contract fee often required), fulfill the quest condition (gather the specific material or hunt down specific monster), grab the reward.
So what does this “monster hunter” game have anything to do with table tennis?
Both this game and table tennis share the similar condition. In most RPG, players rely mostly on the character’s stats, meaning the player’s skill doesn’t play significant role. MH is different. Besides of my character’s weapon and armor, I have nothing more to rely on except my own skill. Same with table tennis. True I can purchase expensive equipment to improve my game. But without sufficient skill and solid basic technique, I won’t hope too much from my expensive equipment.
Another similarity of them is the skill to anticipate your opponent’s moves. In MH, this is extremely important. Most monster in MH have “telling” about what they’re gonna do. So if I stupid enough to ignore these and still attack carelessly, there will be a good chance I will end up being KO’d. What I should do is watch the monster’s moves carefully, anticipate its attack, find opening, then make a counter. Or else, I will be the one suffering the monster’s counter. Same with table tennis. I need to watch where my opponent move, what kind of stroke my opponent gonna do (whether it’s a smash or drop shot, for example), anything. Currently I’m still practicing my skill to anticipate my opponent’s move, but I think I’m making a progress and I feel I have more time to recieve anything my opponent throw at me.
There are a lot more example than just this two. I picked them because currently both of them are the ones currently I really like to play. Of course, you may agree or disagree with me. What say you?

Leave a Reply

